The Shack

Finally finished The Shack today (have been listening to the audio book). Interesting and perplexing. A number of good and helpful points but I am left with the sense that there is something not quite right at times. I’m not really trying to do a detailed theological analysis; I’m sure others have done so – and now I can read some of them. The almost exclusive stress on God’s love, the potential for the allegory to reinforce unhealthy trinitarian ideas, the way the idea of truth is handled (in the audio book, there is an author’s commentary that furthers this question for me; not sure if it is in the printed book), and a few other things leave me wondering…This would be a good book for a discussion group precisely for those reasons, I think.

Leave a Reply

