Justification

Neglected to post on N.T. Wright’s Justification last week. Read it as a counterweight to Piper’s book. Has all the strengths that Wright normally brings. I always love a book that forces me to open up the texts and work my way through them. I’m still working on my final conclusion. There are some attractive things: 1) I think his definition/understanding of the gospel clearer than Piper – who has trouble releasing justification by faith as part of his definition, 2) his approach to Paul’s use of the OT seems more robust to me – Paul’s use of entire contexts seems right, and 3) his extended attention to the larger contexts avoids a more proof-texty impression. The big question is if his overall thesis overrides the particularities of the text in some places. I’m still working through this one.

Leave a Reply

