Fiction Round-up – 25

As I’ve been derelict in posting, here’s a quick post with most of my latest fiction reading (at least the last month or so):

The Amber Room by Steve Berry. Haven’t previously read anything by him and since we had a 10 hour drive, my wife and I made our way through that as an audio book. A reasonably good thriller, though as it was his first published book I’ll cut some slack for a few characters who were at times a bit thin. I enjoyed learning a bit about the Amber Room though. And I thought the interview with the author at the end had some interesting insights on how authors get published – this was I think his 3rd or 4th book, rejected multiple times by publishers before it was finally published and now he’s a big-timer. That’s hopeful for aspiring writers…

The Warrior’s Apprentice by Lois McMaster Bujold. Another audio  book (CD version, which I can’t seem to locate, so the link is to a paperback). A well-loved series I’ve never sampled. I found it entertaining and amusing. Not deep to be sure, but worth a read.

A Mighty Fortress by David Weber. If you’re a fan, you’ll be reading this. It’s the fourth in the Safehold series and I enjoy its interaction with issues of faith among other things. Unfortunately, a bunch more in this series are planned – I’m afraid it will keep me busy for a while.

Victorious by Jack Campbell. This is the sixth, and I think final book, in the Lost Fleet series. Solid space opera with a largely happy ending.  Glad to wrap this up.

Burning Skies by David Williams. Hard sci-fi with a bit of cyber punkish feel. Pretty dystopian, very fast, and really complicated. I’m not sure it’s my cup of tea, but was engaging due to its pace and action.

Steal Across the Sky by Nancy Kress. I’m continue to check in with new authors. This is an interesting book, focused on issues of the afterlife and even faith, though not necessarily in a positive way.

Live Free or Die by John Ringo. I’ve found myself reading a lot of Ringo over the last few years – and there is a bit of formulaic stuff in it.  But any book where the fate of the Earth depends on maple syrup (small spoiler) has at least something fun about it. I’m not sure if the whole thing works as something distinct enough from his Posleen series to work long term. I guess there will be a chance to see.

These officially get me to 25 and I have some other stuff to add. I’ll get some more in soon.

Leave a Reply

