#1 – The Girl Who Played with Fire

I began with the sequel to last summer’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo; the Millennium trilogy (of which both are part) has been quite the rage. I’ll be honest – I gave up after 150 or so pages. The plot had some interesting things, but for me at least, I had trouble liking the characters (or at least caring about them). The two main characters are deeply flawed and I just had trouble getting that interested in what happened to them. The Swedish sensibilities also had a part (promiscuity, political and other dimensions that were a bit too clichéd for me). Nontheless, so many other things to read, I just moved on. I’m proud of myself for stopping because I often find it hard to do.

Leave a Reply

