The Sorcerer’s House

For my wrap-up weekend, plowed through The Sorcerer’s House by Gene Wolfe. A very interesting layered and indirect fantasy, told via a series of letters (apparently a variant of a fairly standard Wolfe approach – the unreliable 1st person narrator). There’s a gradual unveiling of plot elements that gives it a sort of mystery feel, as well. I’ve been interested in Wolfe as I’ve read he is a Catholic and his faith has been a significant part of his work (see the Wikipedia entry for a bit of detail). It’s his most recent, so I suppose I’ve messed up by starting with the latest work, but it was on hand and so I read it. And enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

