New category – things I’d like to read: Men, Women and Pianos

I’m expanding a bit. I see so many fascinating books that I just don’t have time for. So, I’m going to start mentioning some of them. I’ll start with one that seems intriguing: Men, Women and Pianos: A Social History by Arthur Loesser. What intrigued me? The preface by Jacques Barzun, the role of music in life, and the description on the back:

As the “social anchor” in middle-class homes of the 19th century, the piano was simultaneously an elegant piece of drawing-room furniture, a sign of bourgeois prosperity and a means of introducing the young to music and entertaining their elders.

It sounds serious, but light-hearted and interesting to boot. Maybe someday…

Tags:

Leave a Reply

