Hear then the parable

One of the books I picked up the other day was Hear Then the Parable by Bernard Brandon Scott. Since it’s not my primary field, I passed it on to my colleague who covers that area. But before I did, I read the first section and found it fascinating. It covered the meaning of the relevant Hebrew and Greek terms (e.g., the Hebrew mashal is much broader; most often as proverb or riddle, with not much of the narrative function – which highlights the need for interpretation!). It also compared the Rabbinic tradition (the narrative stuff is mostly post NT era) as well as Thomas (for which the author seems a bit too deferential, in my view). I also liked his naming convention – he named parables by the first few words, since most traditional names have an implicit hermeneutical stance built in. But regardless, I learned a lot even skimming that section. It reminded me of how much good stuff there is to learn.

Leave a Reply

