Harry Potter (8)

The last few days have been more crowded than they should have been, so I haven’t posted for 2 days, I think. But since most of the end of the year faculty stuff is completed, I should be able to be more regular now. On to a book…

OK – I’m way behind the crowds, but I finally read the first book in the Potter series: The Sorcerer’s Stone (though I prefer the British Philosopher’s Stone, for obvious reasons). For someone who has read a lot of fantasy in my life, it didn’t seem that groundbreaking, but wasn’t a bad read. A believable enough world, emphasis on moral values like trust, loyalty, friendship and enough moral complexity to make it not too preachy. I’ll probably try and work through some more in the series later on, though my piles are already kind of high.

Leave a Reply

