Some history (mostly fun stuff I have read)

Since I’m about to launch a public reading program, let me share a few things I’ve read in the last year or so – to give you some sense of my taste (good and bad). I’ll start with some fun stuff:

Ender in Exile by Orson Scott Card (the latest book in the famed Ender’s series). I found it enjoyable with some interesting insights on leadership.

The Know-it-All by A.J. Jacobs. I enjoyed his The Year of Living Biblically and am about 1/2 way through reading about his year of reading the Encyclopedia Britannica. [Note: partially completed books will not count toward my 100 books – unless I get really desparate at the end of the program]

Crazy for God by Frank Schaeffer. An autobiographical account by Francis Schaeffer’s son, who has sort of wandered off the evangelical reservation. The first part deals a lot with his parents, and though I’m not entirely sure of how his agenda may have tainted his memories or his account, I found his portrayal of them as flawed humans strangely reassuring.

1635: The Dreeson Incident by Eric Flint and Virginia DeMarce. Another entry in the 1632 alternate history series.

Claws that Catch by John Ringo and Travis Taylor. Straight-up hard sci fi (Looking Glass series).

Churched by Matthew Paul Turner (in progress). Interesting look at growing up in church.

Life of Pi by Yann Martell.  A very entertaining novel with some really postmodern stuff.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. A wonderful book with moral dimensions.

Extreme Measures by Vince Flynn. Another in a line of terrorism related thrillers. Some brain candy, I admit.

And let’s not forget, Ultimate X-Men 1 and 5 (fyi- I won’t count graphic novels in my 100 books; it would be way to easy.

That’s by no means everything, but as you can see, quite a bit of science fiction with some more contemporary stuff.

One Response to “Some history (mostly fun stuff I have read)”

  1. Karla Sanders Says:

    One of my friends, 12, is reading the Ender series. Today I read C.S. Lewis’ _Men Without Chests_ essay. Congratulations on setting a goal! I look forward to reading your summaries.

Leave a Reply

